New York Get-Aways — and more

Places of Interest

Nolan Park

The houses in Nolan Park on Governors Island are distinctive by their bright yellow color. Several of these houses are open to the public with art exhibits during the public access season.

Brooklyn Bridge Park Conservancy: brooklynbridgepark.org
Central Park Conservancy: centralparknyc.org
oney Island: www.coneyisland.com/tourism.shtml
Governors Island: www.nyharborparks.org/visit/gois.html
Harlem One Stop: harlemonestop.com
placeMATTERS: placematters.net (a joint project of City Lore and the Municipal Art Society)
Prospect Park: prospectpark.org
Riverside Park: www.riversideparkfund.org/


Museums

blue whale

Much-loved whale at
Museum of Natural History

arrowAmerican Museum of Natural History: www.amnh.org/
Brooklyn Historical Society: brooklynhistory.org
Brooklyn Museum: www.brooklynmuseum.org/
Guggenheim Museum: www.guggenheim.org/
Metropolitan Museum www.metmuseum.org/
Museum of City of New York www.mcny.org
Museum of Modern Art: www.moma.org/
National Academy of Design: www.nationalacademy.org/
New-York Historical Society nyhistory.org
Queens museum of Art. www.queensmuseum.org
Transit Museum nycsubway.org
Whitney Museum of American Art: www.whitney.org/
and lots more museums!: www.ny.com/museums/all.museums.html 


Tours, Lectures, Lore

Grave of inventor Elias Howe
at Green-Wood Cemetary

Brooklyn Center for the Urban Environment: bcue.org
Bronx River Alliance: bronxriver.org
Bus & Walking Tours (Justin Ferate. Register to receive communications regarding NYC history, events, more. Highly recommended by Louis Kleinman): justinsnewyork.com
Center for the Living City: www.centerforthelivingcity.org/
City Lore: citylore.org
Gotham Center for New York City History (sponsored by CUNY Graduate Center): gothamcenter.org
Gowanus Dreders Canoe Club: gowanuscanal.org
Green-Wood Cemetary: green-wood.com

Harlem Discover (Harlem Chamber of Commerce): harlemdiscover.com
Historic Districts council (advocacy org): hdc.org 
Historic House Trust: historichousetrust.org
LandmarkWest! iiPhone walking tour app for UWS:Click here to download the app for free. NEW
Park West Block Association: landmark76.org
Municipal Arts Society: mas.org
Newtown Creek Alliance: newtowncreekalliance.org
Photowalks: nyc-architecture.com  


History & Architecture
See also: Resources: Environment & Preservation

Historic House Trust:
The Morris-Jumel Mansion in
Washington Heights is the oldest
house in the borough
of Manhattan.

Forgotten New York: This sylvan setting is in the Riverdale area. Delafield Avenue was named after a family that owned large tracts of land here in the mid 1800s.

Forgotten New York: forgotten-ny.com
General Society of Mechanics & Tradesman (NYC architectural presentations): generalsociety.org
Greater Astoria Historical Society: astorialic.org
Roosevelt Island Historical Society: www.rihs.us
New York Architecture: www.nyc-architecture.com